page contents
 
This is me

The disAbled are a part of this country, We have equal rights to education, employment, cinemas, shopping malls, commanded by a strong law. This law mandates but implementation is failing, why? Because law cannot change hearts, attitudes, thoughts. 

 

Let's change hearts together - you and me. Towards an Equal India.

Most often we come face to face with our disability by the attitudes of other people.

I am the founder and head of Swabhiman (State Disability Information And Resource Centre) (www.swabhiman.org). It is a registered nonprofit and Odisha’s first cross disability organization. I have been a part of the disability rights movement from the passage of PwD Act, CRPD and India’s ratification, amendment of RTE Act, to the recent RPwD Act 2016; with a focus to create rights-based environment in India for persons with disabilities.

 

I have been actively engaged with NGOs and DPOs from across the state (OSDN) and the country (NDN & NCRPD) and have brought about several policy changes which has positively impacted the lives of persons with disabilities in India and State of Odisha. For development of the disability sector and mainstreaming disability into the state’s development agenda, Swabhiman focuses on supporting school education, strengthening youth for availing employment opportunities, increasing public awareness on the issue of disability, working towards accessible cities, building capacities and conducting research for enabling advocacy

I have successfully transitioned from leading a business to heading an NGO in the disability sector. I am an astute professional with around 25 years of experience in addressing the entire spectrum of disability. A dynamic go-getter and effective leader with impressive communication skills; enhanced interpersonal, team management, negotiation, presentation, and networking skills. Having the ability to think out of the box, take risks and drive initiatives for achieving operational excellence. Have travelled across India, UK, North America & Asia. English, Hindi, Odia and knowledge of Bengali. A PhD in Developmental Biology. Published several papers and authored books and a C7-C8 quadriplegic

SITE VISITORS

INTERNATIONAL VISITS

1/2